Bryant Homepage Central Connecticut State Homepage Fairleigh Dickinson Homepage Long Island Homepage Mount Saint Mary's Homepage Robert Morris Homepage Sacred Heart Homepage Saint Francis New York Homepage Saint Francis Pennsylvania Homepage Wagner Homepage



Member Sites

About the NEC

NEC Fan Guide

Brenda Weare Commissioners Cup

NEC Championships

Academic Success

Corporate Partners

Contact Us

NEC Store

Podium Sweep Gives Blue Devils Second Straight Men's NEC Cross Country Title
CCSU's Sanderson Captures Individual Title & Course Record
Bookmark and Share

Click Here For Complete Men's Results
Click Here For Post-Race Interviews
Click Here For Photo Gallery
Click Here For Championship Headquarters
Click Here For Banquet Video Montage
Click Here For Championship Program

New Britain, CT -- The Blue Devil trio of Ry Sanderson, Sam Alexander and Craig Hunt led Central Connecticut State to its second consecutive Northeast Conference (NEC) Men's Cross Country Championship title with a team total of 30 points. The race took place under perfect conditions at Stanley Quarter Park in New Britain, CT.

Individually, Sanderson outpaced field of 104 competitors to garner the NEC Outstanding Performer award, clocking in at 24:50.0. The senior's time lowered the Stanley Quarter Park course record by two seconds. A blur of blue and white trailed Sanderson as teammates Alexander (25:0.2) and Hunt (25:14.0) picked up second and third, respectively. Sacred Heart junior Jeffery Lusigman ran to fourth in 25:47.5, and Monmouth's Ben Hutterer capped of the top-five in fifth with a 25:51.9.

With the Blue Devils in the top spot, Saint Francis fell into runner-up with 56 points. Sacred Heart notched third totaling 74 points, while Monmouth (105) and Wagner (172) completed the top-five. Bryant racked up 195 points, good for the sixth position, as Mount St. Mary's turned in a seventh-place effort with a score of 213. Quinnipiac's 225 took eighth, while Robert Morris (230), St. Francis (NY) (238), Fairleigh Dickinson (287) and Long Island (377) completed the 12-team field.

Also representing the Blue Devils on the All-Conference list were junior Jeremy Schmid in sixth with a 26:01.0 and sophomore John Krell in the 14th spot with a 26:08.08.

Saint Francis (PA) sported four harriers on the All-NEC roster including senior Timothy Wertner, who crossed in seventh in 25:54.7 followed by junior Chris Mills in eighth with a 25:55.9. Rounding out the Red Flash contingent were sophomores Shaun Foley (26:05.7) and Sean Kirby (26:07.9), who placed 12th and 13th, respectively. Saint Francis (PA)'s Chris Fischer took 16th place, clocking 26:18 to win NEC Freshman of the Year accolades. Junior Dylan Bernard and sophomore Zachary Spector were the lone athletes from their respective institutions to garner league honors. Bernard finished sixth for Mount St. Mary's with a 25:53.9, while Spector put the Wagner on the map with his ninth place showing (25:59.0). Sacred Heart's Daniel Koehler finished off his career in All-Conference style as the senior ran to a 26:01.7 for 11th.

CCSU's Eric Blake was awarded with his second-straight NEC Coach of the Year honors, as voted on his fellow league coaches.

2010 Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team

 OVERALL                                   FINAL                                     SCORE TEAM
PLC    Name                         CLS   TIME   PACE   TEAM        TEAM             PLC  PLC   BIB
====  ============================ ==== ======= ====== ====== ==================== ===== ====== =====
   1    Ry Sanderson                SR    24:50.0 8:00   CCSU  CCSU                  1      1      194
   2    Sam Alexander               JR    25:08.2 8:06   CCSU  CCSU                  2      2      186
   3    Craig Hunt                  SO    25:14.0 8:08   CCSU  CCSU                  3      3      190
   4    Jeffrey Lusignan            JR    25:47.5 8:19   SH    Sacred Heart Univers  4      1      288
   5    Ben Hutterer                JR    25:51.9 8:20   MONM  Monmouth University   5      1      228
   6    Dylan Bernard               JR    25:53.9 8:20   MSM   Mount St. Mary's Uni  6      1      240
   7    Tim Wertner                 SR    25:54.7 8:21   SFU   Saint Francis Univer  7      1      314
   8    Chris Mills                 JR    25:55.9 8:21   SFU   Saint Francis Univer  8      2      312
   9    Zachary Spector             SO    25:59.0 8:22   WAGN  Wagner College        9      1      332
   10   Jeremy Schmid               JR    26:01.0 8:23   CCSU  CCSU                  10     4      195
   11   Daniel Koehler              SR    26:01.7 8:23   SH    Sacred Heart Univers  11     2      287
   12   Shaun Foley                 SO    26:05.7 8:24   SFU   Saint Francis Univer  12     3      305
   13   Sean Kirby                  SO    26:07.9 8:25   SFU   Saint Francis Univer  13     4      309
   14   John Krell                  SO    26:08.8 8:25   CCSU  CCSU                  14     5      191

NEC Outstanding Performer: Ry Sanderson, Central Connecticut State
NEC Freshman of the Year: Chris Fischer, Saint Francis (PA)
NEC Coach of the Year: Eric Blake, Central Connecticut State

NEC on the Run App Banner NEC Scoreboard Banner Ad This Is #NECPride Promos NEC Overtime! Blog Banner Ad Follow Us On Instagram
#NECFB - Throwback Thursday - CCSU's Marcus Dorsey
#NECFB - Throwback Thursday - CCSU's Marcus Dorsey
View Video
Fall Sports Are Back
View Video
#NEFCB - Throwback Thursday - RMU's Myles Russ
View Video
2014 NEC Football Kickoff Hangout
View Video
#NECFB Coaches Google Hangout Promo
View Video
#NECFB Update - Moore named as Preseason Buck Buchanan Award Watch List candidate
View Video
#NECFB Update - Hollomon and Spence named as Preseason Walter Payton Award Watch List candidates
View Video
NEC Football Sports Network Preseason All-Americans
View Video
2014 NEC Presidents Meeting - Gregory Dell'Omo
View Video
2014 NEC Presidents Meeting - Ronald Machtley
View Video